Monday, January 15, 2007

209 - Religious Freedom?


1. Arkansas
Eight U.S. states have extreme religious intolerance built right into their constitutions. These are mostly provisions intended to ban atheists from holding civil offices, but the wording of these provisions often preclude followers of non-traditional western religions like Buddhists from holding office as well.


2. Pennsylvania
Section II: "Nor can any man, who acknowledges the being of a God, be justly deprived or abridged of any civil right as a citizen, on account of his religious sentiments or peculiar mode of religious worship"


3. Tennessee
Section 3 and 4 of Article One of Tennessee's constitution guarantees religious freedom in all areas. Later, however, Article Nine, section 2, reneges on those rights by proclaiming "No person who denies the being of God, or a future state of rewards and punishments, shall hold any office in the civil department of this state."


4. Massachusetts
The third article of Massachusetts' declaration of rights goes so far as to protect onlyChristian residents of that state although it thankfully does forbid an official state sactioned denomination of Christianity.

The Professor and Mary Anne

5. The Professor and Mary Anne
The other states with similar provisions are Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina and Texas. Of course, these are old timey laws which are rarely enforced, and, when acted upon, have been declared unconstitutional by the federal supreme court. Still, If you live in any of these states, you may want to consider moving..


No comments: